The Loop: My Oldies Playlist

Here are a few of my favorite Oldie but a Goldie playlist!

Alphavilla- “Forever Young” circa 1984

This song holds a special place in my heart, not just because it’s a great song, but also because this was the last song played at my senior prom in 2014. If you haven’t heard it yet, it’s a soft ballad relying on the sounds of a simple synthesized melody that makes your body sway with outstretched arms, a movement only certain songs can make you do. The lyrics pay homage to the youth living during the Cold War: “Are you gonna drop the bomb or not?” To the youth of this generation, this song seems like a tune about invincibility, but the true meaning is asking for death at a young age, so in the afterlife they can be young forever.

Aerosmith- “I Don’t Want to Miss a Thing” circa 1998

In my bio, I stated that I grew up listening to 80’s rock with my dad. And since I have a mom, what else influenced me? She was a huge fan of 80’s and 90’s romantic ballads. A beautiful combination of the two makes a beautiful baby I’ve come to know as Aerosmith’s “I Don’t Want to Miss a Thing.” This song makes the heart melt, from the emerging sounds of a lush orchestra to Steven Tyler’s beautifully pitched screech. And yes, it was part of the soundtrack for the movie, “Armageddon” (which, in my opinion, is one of the most beautifully scored movies of all time). I’m not a huge romantic, or an advocate of romance, but this song can make a believer out of me.

Bon Jovi- “It’s My Life” circa 2000

What is the most epic song I’ve ever heard? Hands down the title belongs to Bon Jovi! If Hollywood needed a song for a new movie about a self assured, fearless, failure defying kid, this is the song for it. This song packs a punch and doesn’t hold back one bit! If you need some motivation in the form of epic guitar solos, sick bass lines, and cymbal crashes, look no further, and let Jon Bon Jovi’s voice take you on a motivational rollercoaster that will surely change your life like Tommy and Gina!

 

Leave a Reply

