A Change in Life: Songs that Made Me

So I’m only 20 years young, meaning that I wouldn’t even be considered a Millennial, which is fine and whatever, but it can be confusing to some of you guys. The purpose of choosing specifically “The Millennial Sound,” is to focus on how Millennials in music are shaping the society. We’ve seen the culture of the 70’s, with it’s free loving and artistic form of music and in the 80’s, the theatrics to really make a name for yourself.

For me, the 2000’s were still a bit blurry to say the least. I hadn’t developed my own mindset or music taste yet. I only heard what my parents played. It wasn’t until the late 2000’s when I started to discover music that was not only good to listen to, but good to feel something to. And by something, I mean something other than myself. If that makes any sense. Basically, these are the songs and the artists that shaped me and made me who I am.

The Fray
In 2009, my grandma passed away. I felt like half of me was gone. The Fray’s “How To Save A Life,” was a huge influencer on the depression I experienced at the age of 11 years old. The song changed my life. And even now, sitting here in front of a screen and typing this out, I can’t begin to explain how this song pushed me to be a better person. I also love their songs “Look After You” and “You Found Me.” Their meaningful lyrics push me to face my personal demons and I have yet to hear a song that so well typifies adolescent depression. Isaac Slade and Joe King, if you’ve stumbled upon this somehow, my gratitude is well over due. Thank you.

The 1975
I’m a Christian girl, and that’s usually not the first thing I tell people, because I find that it doesn’t define who I am. Also, there’s been some stigma around it, and in a progressive world it can be difficult because of the conservative connotations surrounding Christianity. When I first played The 1975’s “Sex” in front of my mom and sisters, they were appalled. Matty Healy has quite an explicit taste in lyric choice, but that’s what I like the most about it. Before, I thought sex was a no no. I mean, I still believe sex is special and a virtuous decision, but I no longer think of it as vulgar. The 1975 changed my perceptions of sex from an ostentatious action to a beautiful, artistic form. Some other songs that I like from The 1975 are, “She Way Out,” and “Nana.”

Halsey
For awhile now, I’ve been trying to find a female confidant. Someone who can mentor me in the way of life. I have yet to find one in real life, but I’d like to think that my famous best friend, Ashley Frangipane, would fit the role perfectly. Halsey, aka Ashley Frangipane, is a badass, intelligent feminist who advocates self love, progression for the LGBTQ community, and consent and non-stigmatizing sex. She’s a fellow makeup lover, which is awesome because there has been a lot of backlash against anyone who wears and embraces makeup. She doesn’t let anyone make her feel lesser of a human and speaks up when a line is crossed. I strive to be that confident and all around kickass. My favorite songs from her are, “Hurricane” and “Colors.”

Leave a Reply

